top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAbby Parker

Get to Know Me!

Updated: Oct 30, 2018

Hello everyone! If you have made it this far, then you're interested in knowing a bit more about me.

Northwest Park - Home Sweet Home

I am born and bred from Pittsburgh PA. It is in my DNA and that is why I decided to have Pittsburgh be the backdrop to my thesis, INDENTURED.


My childhood was unusual to say the least. I grew up on site of the YMCA summer camp, Camp Kon-O-Kwee. My father, an environmental/recreational educator, was the program director of this camp for many years where we lived and breathed the camp. I was the director's child so I had the run of the camp whenever I wanted and it gave me many stories that undoubtedly weave their way into the tales I write today.


Inevitably, we did move away from our beloved camp and to Northwest Park in Windsor Connecticut. My teenage years were spent hiking trails, feeding the barn animals, and entertaining children through educational programs that that the park put on annually. I went from one form of camp to another - though this one was open to the public almost 24/7. Here, I fell in love with film.


My high school had a starter television program that gave me the footing I needed to become a filmmaker. I started off with fan-films made from scraps of footage from my favorite shows (Doctor Who, Once Upon a Time, Hannibal) and my talent caught the eye of the TV teacher, Steve Hodges. He took me under his wing and for three years, he helped me hone my editing and filmic skills. Senior year I learned that I would be going to Ithaca College, one of the best film schools in the country, and all with the help of my mentor.


Midway through my college career, my parents moved back to their hometown of Pittsburgh and there they have stayed. I learned to reconnect with my family and friends that I had left behind in my elementary school days and eventually fell into my new home. There I got the idea to make my thesis film, INDENTURED, which was completed in May 2018.


I am now nearing completion of my Bachelors of Science degree through Ithaca College all the way on the other side of the country - Los Angeles California. I am interning at Ideate Media and Blumhouse, two of my favorite companies. In December, I will graduate and fully be on my own, a tiny Pittsburgh filmmaker in the big sea of Los Angeles. But, with the moves I have made over the course of my life and the way things have turned out, I have no doubt that I will succeed in whatever I do.

Favorite Quote

“The way I see it, every life is a pile of good things and bad things. The good things don't always soften the bad things, but vice versa, the bad things don't always spoil the good things and make them unimportant.” - The Doctor

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page